HKR 2024

Germany takes the Juniors Race Title for the 1st time


Team Germany has taken the Longines Future Hahnenkamm Champions Juniors Race title for the first time since the event’s inception in 2001. Second and third place went to Team Austria 1 and Team Italy. 

The 17th Longines Future Hahnenkamm Champions Juniors Race took place on the legendary Ganslern Slope on Wednesday, exactly where the World Cup elite will meet on Sunday. For the first time in the history of the International Juniors Race, the winners come from Germany. The team consisting of Luisa Illig, Lara Marie Wies, Franca Salhi, Max Holzinger, Michael Huber and Fabian Hummer won with a lead of 2 minutes and 47 seconds, ahead of the aspiring young athletes from Team Austria 1 (Hannah Embacher, Christina Gruber, Ella Fiel, Julian Sapl, Paul Graller and Severin Wieser) and their Italian counterparts (Arianna Putzer, Alenah Taschler, Victoria Klotz, Matthias Mahlknecht, Nicola Zampedri and Noah Gasteiger). The teams (each consisting of 3 girls and 3 boys) completed two slalom runs.

Final results:

  1. Germany
  2. Austria 1
  3. Italy
  4. Slovenia
  5. Czech Republic
  6. Tyrol
  7. Austria 2
  8. Switzerland
  9. Liechtenstein

Since its premiere in 2001, many of the Juniors Race participants and winners have gone on to achieve great success in the World Cup, Olympic Games and World Championships. These include Anna Veith, Marcel Hirscher, Matthias Mayer, Beat Feuz, Adrian Pertl, Dominik Paris, Eva-Maria Brem, Pepi Ferstl, Max Franz, Chiara Mair, Ariane Rädler and Ilka Stuhec.


Photo © Stefan Adelsberger

Related Posts

A day straight out of a fairytale